New Grave Markers

New grave markers have been made for some of the graves that were not easily identifiable or did not have a marker. The graves of John Rippie, Asenath M. Stewart, Mark B. Shannon, Thomas Hill Foster, Bingham Baby Girl 1 and Bingham Bay Girl 2 all had the new markers placed on their graves today. – Buster

Published in: on April 16, 2010 at 5:59 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pondspringscemetery.wordpress.com/2010/04/16/new-grave-markers-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Very nice. I’m sure family members appreciate this.

  2. my great grandfather came to texas as a mullato slave from tennessee in the 1850’s. we believe he is the son of john gault. our records show his name was ed gault he purchased land in taylor tx in the 1870’s and is buried in the taylor city cemetary. many of his offsprings are in taylor tx today. pls leave a comment.

    thanks
    kevin gault

    • The Gaults have been a difficult family to trace. As I have researched only one specific line for the purposes of this blog (Robert Gault), I’m unfortunately uninformed about much else. Here’s the little I have: Robert’s father was also John Gault, born in Tennessee ca. 1804. John Gault and family can be found in the 1860 Travis County Texas census. It appears that he had many slaves. Based on the birthplaces of the children, it appears that the John Gault family lived in Tennessee until 1850 at least. I just can’t find Ed Gault (born 1840 +/- 5) in any subsequent censuses. Although it is very difficult to discern if this was “your” John Gault, so far the pieces do make it plausible, but much more research would need to be done. Very interesting. I do see that Ed Gault was 90 when he died in 1930.
      – Suzanne

  3. I read on this cemetery that the stones were painted? I was wondering what with and was it just the letters?
    Thank You

    • Hi, thank you for your comment. Please see my personal email. Suzanne

  4. I come from the Crumleys who are mostly out of Wimberley TX and Driftwood TX. I am looking for a grave for my grandmother who we lost contact with many years ago. Serena Ellen Crumley Boyer born around 1921. Please let me know if you have a site for her in your cemetary. I could not find where you list the names of those who are buried there.

    Thank you very much,

    D’Arcy Ellen

    • Hi, I did a bit of research and discovered that your ggg grandfather, Chapple CRUMLEY (born in Georgia 1846) was a first cousin to Sanford Ideila CRUMLEY who has a child buried in Pond Springs. You share a common ancestor in William Smith CRUMLEY born 4 April 1794 in Newberry County SC. Your grandmother Serena’s parents were David and Rachel CRUMLEY. David’s father was John CRUMLEY, his mother was Serena. So, I believe that YOUR grandmother was named after HER grandmother. Interestingly, I do not find Serena BOYER in the Social Security Death Index, so she might still be alive.


Leave a Reply

